Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Keep all items inside carousel until it comes to a complete stop

In case you haven't heard, the coaching carousel has already started. So far, here are some of the coaches that have left or been shown the door:
  • Houston Nutt - Arkansas - Nutt resigned after compiling a 10-year record of 75-48 (.610) and three SEC West championships with the Razorbacks, including two trips to the conference championship game.
  • Ted Roof - Duke - Duke has lost at least 10 games in three straight seasons, including a winless 2006. Roof finished his Duke tenure with a 6-45 record.
  • Chan Gailey - Georgia Tech - Gailey was 44-32 in six seasons at Georgia Tech but 0-6 against rival Georgia. The Yellow Jackets are 7-5 in 2007.
  • Lloyd Carr - Michigan - The Carr era was marked by highs of winning a national title and five Big Ten crowns and lows of losing (a lot) to Ohio State. Carr's .752 winning percentage (121-40) ranks seventh among active coaches.
  • Bill Callahan - Nebraska - Callahan's four-year stay was marked by the most embarrassing losses at a football program once among the mightiest. Interim AD Tom Osborne announced the dismissal one day after the Cornhuskers ended the season at 5-7.
  • Ed Orgeron - Ole Miss - Orgeron was fired a day after the Rebels blew a game against their big rival to finish the season 3-9 and go winless in the conference for the first time since 1982.
  • Dennis Franchione - Texas A&M - Franchione came to Texas A&M to restore the glory to the Aggies. He left with a mediocre record and an embarrassing scandal on his resume. Franchione resigned, ending a rocky five-year tenure.
  • Others are on the out include: Guy Moris - Baylor, Joe Novak - Northern Illinois, Phil Bennet - SMU, Jeff Bower - Southern Miss, Bill Doba - Washington State

So far, listed are the few hires:

  • Mike Sherman - Texas A&M
  • Houston Nutt - Ole Miss

We'll provide you with a complete list of changes after the carousel comes to a stop, or atleast a slower speed.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home